Home > Consider This > Why I’m Not A Republican

Why I’m Not A Republican

It never dawned on me why I should loathe the Democratic Party so much and vote GOP without ever having read either political platform. I slowly came to the realization that, even when having the majority in both the executive and legislative offices, neither party has reflected my values of maintaining small government interaction, ensuring the civil rights of the populous, and balancing a conservative economic system. So where does this leave me when the voting booths light up? First allow me to make my case. Below are three examples of problems I have found within both major parties.

Health care is all the rage in political circles right now. So, even in fear of being passé in the coming years, I will use this as my first example.

  1. The current population figures for the United States shows us at around 304-305 million; for a nice round number, let’s use 300 million. Now, let’s take 15 percent of that nice round number, which is 45 million. This will be our base population group for this argument.
    • I have family who pays $745 per month for health insurance. In keeping with round numbers, as well as being more accommodating and inclusive, we will round down to $450 per month. I believe we can safely assume that the actual amount of money spent each month by 15 percent of the Americans who buy health insurance is actually higher than $450. That’s 45 million Americans paying $5,400 per year for health coverage. How’s my math thus far?
    • If we applied the yearly total of $243 billion to the overwhelming costs of the proposed health care reform, we could pay off the current 1.3 trillion dollar total in six-seven years easy. That’s just 15 percent. My math being correct, I don’t have a problem with the cost.
  2. Now, allow me a short dream in which every member of Capitol Hill and the White House, for the rest of my life, were people that I personally elected to those offices. I wouldn’t have a problem with big government running my life. However, as we all know, that would never happen.
  3. If the cost isn’t an issue, and my dream of a personally chosen government were reality, I still do not see how we could avoid overfilling the hospitals with sniffling patients who simply need over-the-counter medication and not the assistance of an over-regulated medical team. Then, of course, this hospital overfill would require more staffing, which would require more room, ad nauseum, and in the end, catapulting the original costs of this supposed superior system of health care regulated and run by our elected officials. High cost and big government. Strike one and two for the Democrats.

My second example is basic human rights. There are those among us who would amend the United States Constitution to keep certain groups from their unalienable rights of life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness, by denying state-appointed marriage benefits. We have American citizens who are constantly mocked, treated as second class citizens, and sometimes even murdered simply because of their personal relationships. Regardless of your religious background, how can we, as a semi-moral nation, get behind such a basic civil rights violation? Big government and civil rights violation. Strike one and two for the GOP. Lest we forget the empty promises of the Democratic Party to provide this civil right to the American populous, strike three.

Lastly, everyone’s favorite topic, abortion. This is another state issue that most individuals on both sides would hand over to the federal government. We, as the public, have already given up enough when it comes to our personal choices. Whether men or women, giving up our reproductive rights to any form of government ends in an Orwellian existence. Abortion is a terrible thing and it should not be necessary, but passing federal legislation to those ends, does not justify the means. This is a multi-party problem and in the end, we all lose.

Allowing any form of government further control of its populous lessens the abilities and endangers the possibilities of a free society. Currently, our two-party system, Democrats and Republicans, ignore civil rights violations and promotes big government, which lends itself to over spending. So, back to my original question. Where does this leave me? Third party.

Like myself, there are many individuals who feel their is no place for them in either major party. It’s always a little of column A and a smidgen of column B, and then vote for whomever closely fits that mold. You also have fringe groups, like the Tea Party Patriots, who started out with the right idea, but simply became Republican Lite; same flavor, different packaging.

As our founding father’s stated in the Declaration of Independence, it is the right of the people to use prudence in altering or abolishing any form of government that fails to secure our most basic rights. This is not for light and transient causes, but when a long train of abuses proves antithetical to true democracy. I would invite any discouraged voters to well research the Libertarian Party and join me in rediscovering American freedom.

Thanks for reading,

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

