Home > Consider This > The Next Minnesota Governor

The Next Minnesota Governor

I must say, I am not excited about our choices for governor here in Minnesota. I have spent the past few months viewing and reviewing candidate web sites in attempts to find an eligible candidate worth a vote. It has been interesting, if not boring. Instead of writing an article that would simply aggregate debate material (being that Minnesota Public Radio has already done that for us), I decided to write why I’m voting for Tom Horner.

I should mention now that I considered a write-in for none of the above (NOTA), but concluded that Mr. Horner is the only candidate present that could move the state at least a few steps toward constitutional freedom; more than all other candidates combined. I could not ignore that statement, even if I do not agree with Mr. Horner on other issues. I should also state that Mr. Horner has a shot at winning the election. I would never vote for a candidate just because he is not the other, or in this case others. I know that my conclusion will not fit everyone, but thought I should give account here for anyone still on the fence.

Mark Dayton is wrong.

  1. He views the income tax as the government’s personal slush fund. He has talked about raising income taxes and increasing teacher pay. This tells me two things:  income taxes will increase across the board and Mr. Dayton would be giving the teacher’s union de facto control of income tax levels by extension.
  2. He would play host to government-run health care.
  3. He would vote amnesty for illegal immigrants.
  4. Mr. Dayton is wrong for Minnesota for more reasons than these three.

Tom Emmer is wrong.

  1. Most of my GOP friends have stated that Emmer is a picayune candidate. He simply appears uninterested in creating real world solutions. I have to agree. He is a party parrot.
  2. He would vote to abuse our U.S. Constitution by advancing a ban on same-sex marriage. I hold that no form of government should have the authority to define, license or restrict an individual’s personal relationships. Sexual orientation, preference, gender, or gender identity should have no effect on the rights of individuals.
  3. He would fight to remove the rights of women to have an abortion. As sad and horrible as abortion is, when all the political smoke clears, it still remains a woman’s reproductive decision. No system of government should be allowed abilities to pass legislation that would instruct its citizens how to manage and operate their own bodies.
  4. Mr. Emmer is wrong for Minnesota.

Tom Horner is wrong.

  1. He would continue to support the public funding for abortions. I don’t want to pay for abortions and don’t think you should either.
  2. He has discussed using public funds to build a state-run racino. This is not an answer to our deficit. It’s a penalty tax for gambling.
  3. Coupled with his plan to ensure $25 million to combat homelessness, the racino could serve to further the welfare-state.
  4. Furthermore, it is my opinion that an increase in the public jobs created by the racino is not an answer to job loss in the private sector.

However, I read that apparently there were already enough votes to approve a state-run gambling facility in the last legislative session. Any one of the major candidates elected have stated they would either approve, or seriously consider approving such a bill if it were presented to them. Regardless my opposition, the racino is a moot point this election. Mr. Horner also stated that he would like to find ways to reduce the number of abortions occurring in the state, which puts him on even ground in my opinion. Therefore, Horner is right…for now.

Tom Horner is better set to work with all political frequencies to stop government spending. He is decisive on rewarding preventative care and good health habits. He supports gay rights. He believes in paying teachers on a competitive level with the private sector. He wants to lift the moratorium on building new nuclear power plants, while streamlining environmental oversight to make it quicker, more predictable and more consistent. He may not wholly represent me in all areas, but I think he is worth my vote.

I ask you to educate yourself on every vote. Do not vote because of party. Do not vote for a name. Do not vote for your friends or family. Read what you can about every candidate in your local area. Find information about every state candidate that represents you. Do your part in creating a better America, and you will be rewarded in kind.

Thanks for reading,

-RJP

  1. 10/18/2010 at 09:05

    I’ve changed my political beliefs a lot since I moved out and graduated college. Based on my parents and my Christian convictions, I used to vote social conservative. As you probably know now, I’m definitely a fiscal conservative and widely believe that social issues should not be legislated (freedom is good!) and thus I try not to use them when deciding on a candidate. Especially since if we can legislate “morality”, I’m very scared of the day where my Christian beliefs become illegal.
    That said, abortion is the one social issue that I still stand firm on. I believe life starts at conception, and while I acknowledge that others may disagree with life starting at conception, science and medicine can back up that babies are living and keeps pushing that date earlier and earlier. Who’s fighting for the baby’s right to life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness? As such, I think it’s a rare case where I think a social issue can and should be political as well. Call me a social con, but the reproductive decision a woman has is pre-conception — contraception is so good now, and abstinence still has a 100% effective rate.
    As such, Tom Horner will not win my vote if he supports public funding for abortion. (Dayton won’t get my vote either, but that’s because he’s just a horrible candidate in just about every aspect. 😛 )

  2. RJPhillips
    10/18/2010 at 11:45

    1. To be sure I’m reading this correctly, you are saying a woman’s choice on how she manages her body, re: reproduction, stops at conception?

    2. While I agree that abstinence is 100 percent effective at preventing accidental pregnancy, it’s usability is not 100 percent effective. Sex Ed classes are much maligned and little used. As with most educational problems, it starts in the home, yet ends with federal government intervention.

    3. The approach we have been using for the past three decades in dealing with the abortion issue has obviously not been working. People have either ignored it, hoping it will go away on its own; blown up clinics or attacked doctors in protest; or they have attempted to formulate simple answers to a complex issue. Wholesale sex ed. classes in public schools have the potential to be ignored by the very parents who are not talking to their children about the responsibility of sex, but it could be a start. I don’t have an answer, but I’m willing to stand behind someone who talks, not of outlawing and repeating the past three decades, but finding a solution to reduce the need for such atrocities.

    4. I wholly disagree with the use of Medicaid and other public funds paying for abortions, but I wholly disagree with a lot of other items that are publicly funded, e.g., the two wars we are currently fighting. There is not much I can do about it. What I can do is elect individuals who incite discussion on ways to reduce abortions so that we are not utilizing public funds. It’s only a first step. It’s not a resolution.

  3. 10/18/2010 at 18:16

    1. More or less, yes. Here’s my thought process. My belief is that life begins at conception. Also, one person’s rights end where another’s begin. Thus, the woman’s right to manager her body ends where the baby’s rights begin.

    2. Agreed.

    3+4. I’m not under the delusion that Roe v. Wade is going to be overturned. Blowing up docs and clinics isn’t the answer. I think that we can approach it both ways though — decreasing the funding and decreasing the necessity.

  4. RJPhillips
    10/18/2010 at 19:08

    1. While I disagree in part, I do agree that one person’s rights end where another’s begins.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

